About BSU

BSU was founded in 1953 as the Central Institute of Physical Education, and was renamed the Beijing Institute of Physical Education in 1956 and Beijing Sport University (BSU) in 1993. It is one of the National Key Universities and also a “Project 211” University under direct leadership of the General Administration of Sport of China, and is among the first batch of “Double First-Class” project universities. It enjoys a high reputation both at home and abroad for its glorious history, profound sport culture and solid schooling foundation. Situated on the Xinxi Road, Haidian District of Beijing, BSU covers a total area of 755 thousand square meters, with a total construction area of approximately 450 thousand square meters and nearly 100 indoor and outdoor training facilities.

BSU currently consists of four academic divisions: Physical Education and Health Division, Humanities and Social Sciences Division, Olympic Sports Division and Sports Engineering Division. The Physical Education and Health Division has seven schools (colleges): School of Education, School of Psychology, School of Sport Science, School of Sport Medicine and Physical Therapy, School of Strength and Conditioning, China Wushu School (Research Institute of Traditional Chinese Sports) and Traditional Chinese Sport and the School of Leisure Sports and Tourism; the Humanities and Social Sciences Division has eight schools (colleges): School of Marxism, College of Management, Business School of Sports, School of Journalism and Communication, School of International Sports Organizations (Foreign Languages School), School of Art, International Culture College and School of Continuing Education (Training School of Winter Olympic Sports); the Olympic Sports Division has 11 schools (colleges): China Football College, China Basketball College, China Volleyball College, China Ice Hockey College, China Curling College, China Swimming College, China Athletics College, China Extreme Sports College, China Equestrianism College, China Coaches College, Sports Coaching College and Competitive Sports School Affiliated to Beijing Sport University; and the Sports Engineering Division has School of Sports Engineering. As one of the major places welcoming foreign visits in Beijing since the founding of the People’s Republic of China, Beijing Sport University serves as an important window for showcasing China’s achievements in sports.

So far, the University has established relations with 128 higher education institutions in 45 countries and regions in the world and has trained more than 15,000 foreign students from 106 countries. Among them, Dr. Oleg Matytsin was elected the president of International University Sports Federation in 2015. Former Croatian Prime Minister and President of the Croatian Olympic Committee Zlatko Mateša was awarded a doctoral degree here. The University also awarded honorary doctoral degrees to eight international notables including former IOC President Jacques Rogge. Furthermore, the following figures have accepted the honorary professorship from the University: Thomas Bach, President of the IOC, Gian-Franco Kasper, President of the International Ski Federation and Kate Caithness, President of the World Curling Federation. Through its international platform, the University has been integrating high-quality international educational resources and has set up an international cooperation mechanism in cultivating undergraduate and postgraduate students. The University will continue to make progress in cultivating international talents.